5 Ways Travelling Changes Your Perspective of The World

Travel opens your eyes to the world

Tom Stevenson
6 min readMay 29, 2019
Photo by Luka Placko on Reshot

Deciding to go on my first solo trip to Australia in November 2012 was one of my best decisions. Before I started travelling, my life was going nowhere fast.

I was stuck in a rut, working in a job that I detested. It took a car crash to make me realise that life is too short to not take risks.

I expected to visit Australia for a year, return home and resume my life. However, I caught the travel bug and have barely stopped travelling since.

This was something I didn’t expect to happen, nor did I expect travelling to fundamentally change my perspective on so many things. Travelling long-term as opposed to going away for a break opens up your mind in ways I didn’t know was possible.

Travelling forces you to face realities which you were either unaware or uncomfortable with. Once you come face-to-face with these realities, you will never look at life the same way again.

Exposing ourselves to different cultures and new parts of the globe is a great way to broaden our horizons and ensure we don’t become entrenched in dogmatic thinking or wallow in a comfort zone.

It was Aristotle that stated, ‘the unexamined life is one not worth living.’ I…

--

--