Mobile Phones Are Stopping Us From Living In The Present

Ditch your phone and start living

Tom Stevenson
5 min readDec 15, 2019
Photo by Thom Holmes on Unsplash

Yesterday I went to watch my football team, Liverpool F.C., play against one of their Premier League rivals.

It wasn’t the best math, despite Liverpool winning 2–0. Another victory extended our lead at the top of the English Premier League and despite being underwhelmed by the performance, I went home a happy man.

As the match was not a frenetic and gripping affair, my eyes started to wander from the pitch at times. Often I would find myself staring into the distance, observing the touchline, or looking at those around me.

It was when my eyes darted to someone close to my left that provided more curiosity and interest than events on the pitch.

After 20 minutes or so, I realised that a person in the crowd near was wearing headphones. This is unusual, especially when the atmosphere at Liverpool is renowned for being among the best in the country.

Intrigued, I observed some more, and discovered that not only was the man wearing headphones, he was also on his phone.

Now, this is not unusual in itself. A lot of us spend hours on our phones. However, this time it was shocking to me.

--

--