Negativity Is Not The Solution

It will drain the life from you and others

Tom Stevenson
4 min readNov 20, 2019
Photo by Mauricio Artieda on Unsplash

I used to be a negative person.

Sometimes, I find myself lapsing back into my old ways, but now I’m able to notice the signs and snap myself out of it.

Beforehand, I would become negative without realising what was happening. It was as if being negative was my default state.

Little things would rile me, I became negative and would remain that way for the remainder of the day. Defiant against any attempt to shake me out of my negative stupor.

Negativity can have its uses, such as looking at something in a negative light, to see how it can be improved, but overall, it’s folly. Being negative saps your energy, it takes a lot to maintain a negative state, and it will leave you feeling tired and miserable.

Likewise, when you’re in a negative mood, you’re not the most fun person to be around. Your friends and close family will resent spending time with you if you suck the life out of everything!

Like the ever-positive person, no one wants to be around someone whose negative at every opportunity. You need balance in life. A little negativity is good sometimes, it’s also necessary. No one can remain positive all the time.

--

--